Holiday French Toast with Poached Pears

I’ve been longing for the cooler weather of fall since our move to Texas. Thankfully, last Saturday we woke up to a cool morning and the pressing question of what deliciousness to have for breakfast. I decided to combine two things that I have loved since I was a kid — Eggnog and Pears!

Now that might not sound appealing at first, but let me show you how delicious these two things turned out to be. (Bear with my photographs, I am still learning the art of food photography! Think 10x’s more yummy than it looks…okay maybe 100x’s and you’ll be at the same level of awesomeness as this French Toast!)

First I combined about a cup and a half of water with half a cup of sugar and a splash of vanilla extract, I then put in the peeled pear halves:

I let these simmer gently for about 15 to 20 mins as I prepped and cooked the French Toast. I would suggest only poaching for 10 mins instead — mine were on the soft side.

In a bowl I combined one egg 1.5 Tbs of Milk, 1 Tbs Eggnog, 1/2 Tsp Cinnamon and 1/2 Tsp Nutmeg and whisked until frothy. I dipped my pieces of bread in the mixture and thoroughly soaked them on each side, then placed them in a hot frying pan with melted butter:

I used whole wheat bread and then, since my hubby was hungry, I cut up some french bread rolls we had (which is why you see the funny shaped bread here). I fried them until they were nice and golden brown on both sides.

Meanwhile, I took the pears out and set them to the side and continued to reduce the pear infused syrup on the stove (about 20 mins). Then I placed the french bread on a plate, sliced the pears and placed them on top, and drizzled the whole thing with  the pear syrup. Before I could get my camera to take a picture of my masterpiece, my hubby had devoured half of it, so here’s what it looked like after he had enjoyed most of it:

 

As I said before, multiply this times 100x and you’ll see the deliciousness allll over it! I hope you’ll give this, or a variation of it, a try. It was the perfect cool morning breakfast and got me in the mood for the holidays. Even put some cute pumpkins on my mantel. Now we’re ready for fall!

What’s your favorite cool-weather breakfast?

INGREDIENTS

1.5 Cups water

1/2 cup white sugar

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

1 Bartlett Pear, peeled, cored and halved.

1 Egg

1/2 tsp Nutmeg

1/2 tsp Cinnamon

1 Tbs Eggnog

1.5 Tbs Milk

4 Pieces of bread (any kind you like)

2 Tbs Butter

DIRECTIONS

1. Combine water, vanilla and sugar into a sauce pot and bring to a simmer. Place pears cut side down and let simmer for 10 mins. Remove after 10 mins and set aside, continue to let the sugar water mixture simmer and reduce to a syrup, about 20 more mins.

2. Meanwhile, combine egg, milk, eggnog, cinnamon and nutmeg in a bowl and whisk until frothy. Heat 1 Tbs butter in a sauté pan. Dip the bread slices one at a time into the egg/milk mixture, until coated evenly on both sides. Let the excess drain off, and place in the hot frying pan. Cook on med-high heat until golden brown on each side, about 1-2 mins each side (keep an eye on it).

3. Slice the poached pears thinly. Place the french toast on a plate and top with sliced pears and a drizzle of pear infused syrup. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food & Recipes

Leave a Reply

